Frequent question: What was the last victory of India?

Lord Mountbatten was the last viceroy of the British Indian Empire and the first Governor-General of independent India. Lord Mountbatten has some plans and provisions for the development of India.

Why was the last viceroy of India?

Lord Louis Mountbatten, cousin of King George VI and a hero of World War II, is named the last British colonial administrator of India. As Britain had promised independence to India at the end of World War II, his appointment enraged many Indians.

Who was the last victory of Britishers in India?

LORD MOUNTBATTEN was the last viceroy of British India. He remained viceroy of India till 15 August 1947. After independence he became first governor general of India.

Who was victory of India when?

Viceroys in India from 1858 to 1947

Viceroy Tenure Achievement
Lord Linlithgow 1936 – 1944 Cripps Mission Quit India movement
Lord Wavell 1944 – 1947 CR Formula 1944 Launch of Direct Action day Wavell Plan & Shimla conference
Lord Mountbatten 1947-48 June 3rd Plan Last Viceroy and First Governor-General of free India

Who gave up India?

Louis Mountbatten, 1st Earl Mountbatten of Burma

IT IS INTERESTING:  Are flights available from Mumbai to USA?
Admiral of the Fleet The Right Honourable The Earl Mountbatten of Burma KG GCB OM GCSI GCIE GCVO DSO ADC PC FRS
Alma mater Christ’s College, Cambridge
Military service
Allegiance United Kingdom
Branch/service Royal Navy

Who is divided India and Pakistan?

The partition was outlined in the Indian Independence Act 1947 and resulted in the dissolution of the British Raj, i.e. Crown rule in India. The two self-governing independent Dominions of India and Pakistan legally came into existence at midnight on 15 August 1947.

Who was the best Viceroy of India?

Top 15 British Viceroys of India

  • Viceroy # 1. Lord Canning as First Viceroy, (1858-62):
  • Viceroy # 2. Lord Elgin (1862-63):
  • Viceroy # 3. Sir John Lawrence, (1864-69):
  • Viceroy # 4. Lord Mayo, (1869-72):
  • Viceroy # 5. Lord Northbrook, (1872-76):
  • Viceroy # 6. Lord Lytton, (1876-80):
  • Viceroy # 7. …
  • Viceroy # 8.

Is a viceroy royalty?

Viceroy is a form of royal appointment rather than noble rank. An individual viceroy often also held a noble title, however, such as Bernardo de Gálvez, 1st Viscount of Galveston who was also Viceroy of New Spain.

Who was the first and last viceroy of India?

Governor-General of India

Viceroy and Governor-General of India
Formation 20 October 1773
First holder Warren Hastings
Final holder Lord Mountbatten (February 1947 – August 1947 as Viceroy of India) Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari (1948–1950 as Governor-general of Dominion of India)
Abolished 26 January 1950

How many viceroys were there in India?

Governor General of India – List of Viceroys of India

Viceroy Period
Lord Willingdon 1931-1936
Lord Linlithgow 1936-1944
Lord Wavell 1944-1947
Lord Mountbatten March 1947- August 1947
IT IS INTERESTING:  How can I use Indian SIM in USA phone?

How did Mills divide Indian history?

In 1817, James Mill, a Scottish economist and political philosopher, published a massive three-volume work, A History of British India. In this he divided Indian history into three periods – Hindu, Muslim and British. This periodisation came to be widely accepted.

My indian life