Which is the largest physical division of India?

The Peninsular Plateau is the undoubtedly the largest physiographic division of India. The plateau extends over a total area of nearly 15 lakh sq km. It is divided into two sections – The Central Highlands and The Deccan Plateau.

Which of the physical division covers largest area in India?

Largest physical division of India is the Peninsular Plateau Region. It covers an area of about 16 lakh sq km.

Which is the largest and oldest physical division of India?

The peninsular plateau was one of the parts of the Gondwana landmass which drifted away. Hence, it is the oldest landmass of the indian subcontinent.

What are the major physiographic divisions of India?

On the basis of physical features,India can be divided into following six divisions The Northern mountains 2. The Northern Plains 3. The Indian Desert 4. The Peninsular Plateau 5.

What are the physical division of India explain?

Note: India is majorly subdivided into five physical regions, namely, the northern mountainous region, north Indian plain, peninsular plateau, islands, and the coastal plain.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the present condition of India's energy sector?

What are the 5 physical features of India?

Physical Divisions of India

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Coastal Plains.
  • The Islands.

Which following has largest area?

List of countries (and dependencies) ranked by area

# Country Tot. Area (mi²)
1 Russia 6,601,665
2 Canada 3,855,101
3 China 3,747,877
4 United States 3,618,783

What are the 6 physical features of India?

The physical features of India can be divided into six categories, depending on their geological features:

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • Indian Desert.
  • Peninsular Plateau.
  • Coastal Plains.
  • Islands.

What are the 6 relief features of India?

What are the 6 major relief features of India? Explain.

  • the himalayas.
  • the indo – gangetic plain.
  • the peninsular plateau.
  • the costal plains.
  • the desert(thar)
  • the island.

What are the three divisions of the Himalayas?

They are designated, from south to north, as the Outer, or Sub-, Himalayas (also called the Siwalik Range); the Lesser, or Lower, Himalayas; the Great Himalaya Range (Great Himalayas); and the Tethys, or Tibetan, Himalayas.

What are the six major physiographic division of India explain any five?

India can be divided into the following physiographic divisions: (i) The Northern and Northeastern Mountains (ii) The Northern Plain (iii) The Peninsular Plateau (iv) The Indian Desert (v) The Coastal Plains (vi) The Islands.

My indian life