Your question: Which part of India is a plateau?

The Deccan Plateau is a large plateau in western and southern India. It rises to 100 metres (330 ft) in the north, and to more than 1,000 metres (3,300 ft) in the south, forming a raised triangle within the south-pointing triangle of the Indian coastline.

What are the plateau in India?

Peninsular Plateau (Deccan Plateau) | Plateaus in the Peninsular Region

  • Marwar Plateau or Mewar Plateau.
  • Central Highland.
  • Bundelkhand Upland.
  • Malwa Plateau.
  • Baghelkhand.
  • Chotanagpur Plateau.
  • Meghalaya Plateau.

How many plateaus are there in India?

In India, there exists over more than seven plateaus.

Which are the two parts of the Indian plateau?

The plateau has broad and shallow valleys and rounded hills. This plateau consists of two broad divisions, namely, the Central Highlands and the Deccan Plateau.

Where is South and plateau located?

Deccan, the entire southern peninsula of India south of the Narmada River, marked centrally by a high triangular tableland. The name derives from the Sanskrit daksina (“south”). The plateau is bounded on the east and west by the Ghats, escarpments that meet at the plateau’s southern tip.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How many hours is India from Texas?

What are the 3 types of plateaus?

Diastrophic Plateaus

  • Intermontane plateaus.
  • Mountain border plateaus.
  • Domed plateaus,
  • Volcanic plateaus.
  • Erosional plateaus.

What are the three plateaus in India?

Some of the major plateaus of the peninsular India are as follows:

  • The Marwar Upland: …
  • The Central Highland: …
  • The Bundelkhand Upland: …
  • The Malwa Plateau: …
  • The Baghelkhand: …
  • The Chotanagpur Plateau: …
  • The Meghalaya Plateau: …
  • The Deccan Plateau:

Which valley is divided into two parts?

Narmada Valley:-

The Narmada Valley divides the Southern plateau into two parts.

What are the two part of plateau?

The two parts of the southern plateau divided by the river Narmada are the central Highlands and the Deccan Plateau.

What are the two parts of southern Plateau?

The Southern Plateaus are divided into two equal parts by the Narmada River – The Central Highlands and the Deccan Plateau.

Which states are in Southern plateau?

It extends over eight Indian states which are Maharashtra, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Kerala.

What is the southern plateau shape?

Complete answer:The Deccan Plateau is triangular in shape and it lies in western and southern India. It passes through almost eight indian states Telangana,Maharashtra,Karnataka,Tamil Nadu and Kerala. Between the two mountain ranges of the eastern and western ghats lie the plateau.

What is plateau simple?

A plateau is a flat, elevated landform that rises sharply above the surrounding area on at least one side. Plateaus occur on every continent and take up a third of the Earths land. They are one of the four major landforms, along with mountains, plains, and hills.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: What percentage of foreign banks should invest in India is mandatory?
My indian life