Who was the first Indian to win Padma Shri award?

Balbir Singh Dosanjh, popularly known as Balbir Singh Sr. represented India in three Olympic Games getting the Gold Medal on each occasion. In the year 1957, he became the first recipient of the Padma Shri award in Sports category.

Who has own Padma Shri award?


Year Recipient State
2020 Oinam Bembem Devi Manipur
2020 Lia Diskin
2020 M. P. Ganesh Karnataka
2020 Bangalore Gangadhar Karnataka

Who has won Padma Shri which is India’s fourth highest civilian award?

Padma Shri (IAST: padma śrī), also spelled Padma Shree, is the fourth-highest civilian award in the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan.

Padma Shri
Next (higher) Padma Bhushan
← Padma Vibhushan “Tisra Varg” (Class III)

Who is the youngest Padma Shri award winner?

The youngest recipient of Padma Shri so far is

  • Sachin Tendulkar.
  • Shobana Chandrakumar.
  • Sania Mirza.
  • Billy Arjan Singh.

Who is the first woman in India?

Lists Of First Women in India

S.No Field Name of the Person
1 First Indian Woman Doctor Anandi Gopal Joshi
2 First Woman President of INC Annie Besant
3 First Indian Woman President of INC Sarojini Naidu
4 First Indian Woman Airline Pilot Sarla Thakral
IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: Does Mark Zuckerberg practice Hinduism?

What is the prize money for Padma Shri?

The award consists of a Swarn Kamal (Golden Lotus), a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh and a shawl.

How do you get nominated for Padma Shri?

The nominations/recommendations should contain all relevant details specified in the format available on the above mentioned Padma Portal, including a citation in narrative form (maximum 800 words), clearly bringing out the distinguished and exceptional achievements/service of the person recommended in her/his …

What is the prize money of Bharat Ratna?

The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President, with a maximum of three nominees being awarded per year. The recipients receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal leaf-shaped medallion. There is no monetary grant associated with the award.

Who won Bharat Ratna 2020?

Bharat Ratna Awards 2020- Pranab Mukherjee, Nanaji Deshmukh & Bhupen Hazarika Awarded.

My indian life